Press "Enter" to skip to content

Meet the 8 Finalists for the 2024 LVMH Prize

Since 2014, LVMH has crowned a new fashion vanguard through its LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers, an award given annually to emerging talent deemed on their way to becoming the next big name in the industry. These have included Peter Do, Thebe Magugu, Grace Wales Bonner and Nensi Dojaka — all of which, indeed, are well-known today. But, with so many eyes on the competition, simply making the semi-final and final cut can put you on the map. (Just ask Jacquemus.)

This year, there were over 2,500 initial candidates and 20 semi-finalists, revealed in February. On Tuesday, the LVMH Prize announced the eight names making it through to the finals: Julian Louie of Aubero (United States), Duran Lantink (Netherlands), Ellen Hodakova Larsson of Hodakova (Sweden), Marie Adam-Leenaerdt (Belgium), Niccolò Pasqualetti (Italy), Paolo Carzana (United Kingdom), Pauline Dujancourt (France) and Michael Stewart of Standing Ground (Ireland).

On Sept. 10, they’ll present their collections to a jury comprised of top names in the industry — including Maria Grazia Chiuri, Nicolas Ghesquière, Marc Jacobs, Stella McCartneySilvia Venturini FendiPharrell Williams and Phoebe Philo — who will decide who gets the €400,000 endowment. (Fnalists have the opportunity to receive the Karl Lagerfeld Prize and the new Savoir-Faire Prize, which comes with a €200,000 endowment and year-long mentorship at LVMH.)

“The semi-final of the 11th LVMH Prize highlighted the diversity and richness of the candidates’ creative approaches,” Delphine Arnault, founder of the LVMH Prize and executive vice president of Louis Vuitton, said, in a statement. “The semi-finalists showed great expertise in terms of craftsmanship and a strong commitment to sustainability. The finalists’ designs range from entirely hand-made collections to eveningwear, and include upcycled designs.”

Scroll through the gallery below to meet the finalists competing for the 2024 LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers.

Julian Louie, Aubero

Photo: Courtesy of LVMH Prize

Duran Lantink

Photo: Courtesy of LVMH Prize

Ellen Hodakova Larsson, Hodakova

Photo: Courtesy of LVMH Prize

Marie Adam-Leenaerdt

Photo: Courtesy of LVMH Prize

Niccolò Pasqualetti

Photo: Courtesy of LVMH Prize

Paolo Carzana

Photo: Courtesy of LVMH Prize

Pauline Dujancourt

Photo: Courtesy of LVMH Prize

Michael Stewart, Standing Ground

Photo: Courtesy of LVMH Prize

Want the latest fashion industry news first? Sign up for our daily newsletter.


Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *